top of page

FAVORITE QUOTES OF ALL TIMES




Here I'll share some of my favorite quotes of all times:



UNRAVEL ME -TAHEREH MAFI



“What I really want to say is who the hell are you and who are you to decide who gets to die. Who are you to decide who should be killed. Who are you to tell me which father I should destroy and which child I should orphan and which mother should be left without her son, which brother should be left without a sister, which grandmother should spend the rest of her life crying in the early hours of the morning because the body of her grandchild was buried in the ground before her own.”


“Hell is empty and all the devils are here." -Shakespeare (this quote was included in Unravel Me)




IGNITE ME -TAHEREH MAFI


“But there’s something about the darkness, the stillness of this hour, I think, that creates a language of its own. There’s a strange kind of freedom in the dark; a

terrifying vulnerability we allow ourselves at exactly the wrong moment, tricked by the darkness into thinking it will keep our secrets. We forget that the blackness is not a blanket; we forget that the sun will soon rise. But in the moment, at least, we feel brave enough to say things we’d never say in the light.”


“There is nothing to fear. Nothing to worry about. Grieve nothing in this transitory world,” he says softly.

I tilt back, a question in my eyes.

“It’s the only way I know how to exist,” he says. “In a world where there is so much to grieve and so little good to take? I grieve nothing. I take everything.”

I stare into his eyes for what feels like forever.

He leans into my ear. Lowers his voice. “Ignite, my love. Ignite.”


“Words, I think, are such unpredictable creatures.

No gun, no sword, no army or king will ever be more powerful than a sentence. Swords may cut and kill, but words will stab and stay, burying themselves in our bones to become corpses we carry into the future, all the time digging and failing to rip their skeletons from our flesh.”





RESTORE ME -TAHEREH MAFI

“Nothing can be done to fix this world if we spend the next several decades at war within it.”







RUIN AND


RISING -LEIGH BARDUGO

"Na razrus ha'ya. E'ya razrushost. I am not ruined. I am ruination."






ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES -JENNIFER NIVEN


"The world breaks everyone, and afterward, many are strong at the broken places." -Ernest Hemingway (this quote was included in the book)


"My own brain is to me the most unnacountable of machinery - always buzzing, humming, soaring, roaring, diving, and then buried in mud. And why? What's this passion for?"


"I learned that there is good in this world, if you look hard enough for it. I learned that not everyone is disappointing, including me, and that a 1,257 - foot bump in the ground can feel higher than a bell tower if you're standing right to the next person."


"...We are all alone, trapped in these bodies and our own minds, and whatever company we have in this life is only fleeting and superficial."


"...but I'm not a compillation of symptoms. Not a casualty of shitty parents and an even shittier chemical makeup. Not a problem. Not a diagnosis. Not an illness. Not something to be rescued, I'm a person."



I'LL GIVE YOU THE SUN


"If you're going through hell, keep going." -Winston Churchill (this quote was included in the book)










THANK YOU FOR READING!





bottom of page