top of page

THE DIVINITY BUREAU REVIEW (spoiler free)


The Divinity Bureau is a dystopian novel written by Tessa Clare, placed in a world where people have to die in order for more people to live. This is Tessa's debut novel, the idea was born during a hard time for her, so in a way, it's a very personal book. Because of this, it's a book that shows hope, pain, frustration, and desperation.The story is about two teenagers, Roman and April, whose lives could not be more different, living in a world where immortality is possible and the resources are extremely limited. The Divinity Bureau was born, an institution in charge of dealing with this issue by randomly selecting people to 'sacrifice' for the greater good. As truths are revealed they will get closer and fight towards the same goal: protect their loved ones.I really liked this book, especially the story. It was interesting to see this world, where immortality was a possibility, where because of our actions, or rather lack of them, there's so much pollution people have to wear a face mask, where there are not enough resources for everyone, overpopulation was such a big problem, they had to resort to sacrificing people so that others might live. I especially appreciated that the author showed a lot of the conflicts we see nowadays, like corruption, like powerful people and institutions being over the people's voice. I appreciated that she showed that in a dystopian world, where something like this actually happened, it would be almost impossible to have a fair decision over who lives and who dies. I think it was a bonus to the story, aside from making it more realistic. A decision as big as that, it would have to be utterly and completely random, and even then, how to know that killing someone was fairer than letting someone else live. This book made me ask myself these very questions and much more, and for that I am grateful.I liked the characters, to be honest, I liked Roman much more than April, I think he was smart, funny, cute and kind. April wasn't bad, she just wasn't my favorite, and let's just say I'm not a fan of impulsive or rushed decisions, which she makes basically...all the time, I liked her determination and strong beliefs though.As I mentioned before, I think the world was very interesting, the characters were enjoyable, and the writing style made it easier for me to read, I'd recommend it if you're in a reading slump and need something that will catch your attention quickly, however, I have to say although it did catch my attention quickly, there were some chapters where I thought the story was a little bit slow; or if you like stories that will make you question life and the way we live it.Where the ending is concerned, I'm not disappointed, I think with the way the story was developing, it was a good ending, but I do wonder if we'll be seeing more books with these characters.It's an entertaining, thought-provoking novel, with a unique story. I give it 4.5 out of 5 stars. Worth reading, I recommend it to anyone who loves dystopian novels with a great and intriguing story, a cute romance, and filled with questions about life, pain, and hope.

bottom of page