top of page

RHAPSODIC REVIEW


Rhapsodic is the first book in The Bargainer series by Laura Thalassa. It is a New Adult fantasy series and it contains a captivating romance.

I read it, not really knowing what to expect and I can gladly say I really liked it. First of all, I really liked the characters, their personalities and their stories, Callie, the protagonist, was such a strong yet vulnerable character, haunted by her past in so many ways. I enjoyed the way the author made her a strong character without taking flaws from her, she did not made her perfect. Her internal conflicts, her insecurities, her story just make us, the readers, much more able to feel related or identified with her. Des, oh my god, Des, I looved him! He's confident, loyal, funny, sarcastic, sassy. I love that both characters have such much trouble sharing truths, confiding in someone else, because I am like that, I mean being 100% honest with someone else, letting yourself be so...vulnerable, baring your soul to another person...it scares the shit out of me.

Now, about the story, I liked it, especially that throughout most part of the book we have the past and the present in every chapter, it's always fun to read these sort of stories. It's about a girl, Callie, who is a siren, she made a deal with The Bargainer years ago, he disappeared and then seven years later he showed up on her house ready to get payed, he needs her to help him save his kingdom.The plot mostly focuses on the romance, and although I don't complain about the amount of romance we get, I would have liked for the plot to have more twists, however, I think the author might be saving those for the upcoming books.

World building, so far we know a fair amount about the world, there's Earth (where humans and supernaturals live) and there's the Otherworld (where fae and other creatures live), from the Otherworld we know it's divided in Flora, Fauna, Day and Night, we got to see a little about the Night Kingdom, and I am looking forward to getting to know the Otherworld much better. There is a magic system, which I'm also hoping to be able to explore more in the next books.

It's a book I enjoyed reading, I couldn't put it down, I just craved more of the story and the characters. It's not a favorite, the charcaters are not favorites...yet, however I'm thrilled to finish the series, I somehow get the finally it will only get better. I give it 4.7 out of 5 stars. I'd recommend it to anyone who's going through a reading slump, since it' easy to read and to get engaged in the story, and to anyone who loves fantasy and romance filled stories.

bottom of page